Please join the Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP) in Orlando for the 20th Annual Cheers Awards. We will be celebrating individuals, organizations, and agencies that have created forward-thinking best practices and programs and are helping take us into a new era of medication safety.

In The Cards For the Evening
6:00 – 7:00 PM Welcome Reception
7:00 – 9:30 PM Dinner Program
  Welcoming Remarks
Janice Dunsavage, RPh, MS, Chair, ISMP Board of Trustees
  Presentation of Cheers Awards
Michael R. Cohen, RPh, MS, ScD (HON.), dps (hon.), FASHP, President, ISMP

Keynote Speaker:
Daniel Budnitz, MD, MPH, CAPT, USPHS

ISMP Cheers AwardsDr. Budnitz directs the Medication Safety Program at the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). He has authored more than 50 publications on medication safety, public health surveillance, and injury prevention, which have led to new policies by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMC) and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as well as a federal action plan for prevention of adverse drug events. Dr. Budnitz also launched the PROTECT Initiative, a public-private partnership to reduce medication overdoses in children, and a public education campaign on safe medication use and storage ( He is currently a Captain in the US Public Health Service (USPHS) and has practiced as a Board Certified internist at the Atlanta VA Medical Center and the DeKalb-Grady Neighborhood Health Center.

Lifetime Winner:
David Marx, JD

ISMP Cheers AwardsDavid Marx is a true pioneer in the safety world, from developing human factors risk modeling methods to being the father of the Just Culture accountability model. He has more than two decades of experience in transforming workplaces in high-risk industries, and has brought lessons learned from aviation, aerospace, and transportation into the healthcare arena. Marx, who is currently CEO of Outcome Engenuity, a risk management firm, authored Patient Safety and the ‘Just Culture’: A Primer for Healthcare Executives for the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) and advises the US Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) on safety issues. He has authored two books on workplace accountability, Whack-a-Mole: The Price We Pay for Expecting Perfection, and Dave’s Subs: A Novel Story about Workplace Accountability

Support ISMP Cheers Awards


The Cheers Awards would not be possible without YOU. Please saddle up with ISMP to advance medication safety.

Your donation or attendance at the Cheers dinner helps showcase safety leaders and enables the Institute to continue its lifesaving work in preventing medication errors.

See the chart at right for multiple support opportunities that provide supporters with high visibility

Donation Level Investment  
Chairman's Circle $25,000 and above Recognition in presentation, seating for table of 10, full-page ad in program, introduction from stage at the event, table signage, website mention
President's Circle $10,000-24,999

Recognition in presentation, seating for table of 10, half-page ad in program, table signage, website mention

Benefactor $5,000-9,999

Recognition in presentation, seating for table of 10, quarter-page ad in program, table signage, website mention

Patron $2,500-4,999

Seating for 5 guests, table signage, listing in program, website mention

Sponsor $1,000—2,499

Seating for 2 guests, listing in program, website mention

Friend $500-999 Seating for one, listing in program, website mention
Other $200-499

Seating for one, listing in program, website mention

Individual Attendee $175 Dinner reservation


Home | Contact UsEmployment  |   Legal Notices | Privacy Policy | Help Support ISMP
 Med-ERRS | Medication Safety Officer Society Medication Safety Officers Society | Consumer Medication Safety For consumers
ISMP Canada | ISMP Spain  | ISMP Brasil  | International Group  | Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority

200 Lakeside Drive, Suite 200, Horsham, PA 19044, Phone: (215) 947-7797,  Fax: (215) 914-1492
© 2017 Institute for Safe Medication Practices. All rights reserved