Home Support ISMP Newsletters Webinars Report Errors Educational Store Consulting FAQ Tools About Us Contact Us
ISMP Facebook
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6

Cheers Awards Winners

See Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

The Cheers Awards honor individuals, organizations, and companies that have set a superlative standard of excellence for others to follow in the prevention of medication errors and adverse drug events. Winners of this prestigious award include:


  • REMEDI Infusion Pump Collaborative, West Lafayette, IN
  • St. Vincent Primary Care Center, Indianapolis, IN
  • Abu Dhabi Pharmacy Conference: "ASK" Medication Safety Video, Abu Dhabi, UAE
  • H. Shonna Yin, MD, MS, NYU School of Medicine/Bellevue Hospital Center, New York, NY


  • American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (ASPEN) Parenteral Nutrition Safety Committee, Silver Spring, MD
  • Ascension Health, St Louis, MO
  • HCA Clinical Services Group, Nashville, TN
  • Robert K Stoelting, MD, President, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF), Indianapolis, IN
  • Immunization Action Coalition (IAC), St. Paul, MN


  • Eric Kastango, MBA, RPh, FASHP, Clinical IQ LLC, Florham Park, NJ
  • Aurora Health Care , Neonatal Medication Standardization Workgroup, , Milwaukee, WI
  • Safe Enteral Connector Advocates, Jamie Sklar, RN, BSN, MS, CCRN-K, Sean P. O'Neill, PharmD, Eric A. Johnson, PhD, Philadelphia, PA
  • Jason Adelman, MD, MS, , New York, NY
  • CredibleMeds Worldwide, Oro Valley, AZ
  • Russell Jenkins, MD, , Gilbert, AZ


  • University of Michigan College of Pharmacy and Health System, and Michigan Pharmacists Association, Ann Arbor and Lansing, MI
  • Sheldon Sones, RPh, FASCP, Sheldon S. Sones and Associates, Newington, CT
  • OTC Program (AAPCC, McNeil Consumer Healthcare, and Scholastic), ,
  • Dan Hussar, RPh, PhD, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy at the University of the Sciences, Philadelphia, PA
  • Global Enteral Device Supplier Association (GEDSA), Columbus, OH
  • Fred Mayer, RPh, MPH, Pharmacists Planning Service, Inc. (PPSI), San Rafael, CA


  • AAMI Foundation Health Technology Safety Institute (HTSI), Arlington, VA
  • Intelliject Inc., Richmond, VA
  • Kindred Healthcare, Louisville, KY
  • Cook Children's Medical Center, Fort Worth, TX
  • Marshfield Clinic, Marshfield, WI
  • Deb Saine, MS, RPh, FASHP, Medication Safety Manager, Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, VA
  • CDC Safe Injection Practices Coalition (SIPC) and the PROTECT Initiative, Atlanta, GA


  • forYOU Team, University of Missouri Health Care System, Columbia, MO
  • New York Hospital Queens, Flushing, NY
  • Wesley Medical Center, Committee for Safe Medication Practice, Wichita, KS
  • Peggi Guenter, Senior Dir., Advocacy, Research and Clinical Pract, American Soc. for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition, Silver Spring, MD
  • Sproxil and GlaxoSmithKline, Cambridge, MA
  • James A. Haley Veterans' Hospital and Clinics, Tampa, FL
  • Melissa Seamonson, Deerfield, WI


  • OhioHealth, Columbus, OH
  • SCANA Pharmacy, Cayce, SC
  • National Coordinating Council for Medication Error Reporting and Prevention, Rockville, MD
  • Saint Vincent Hospital Med Safety Sub-Committee and Massachusetts College of Pharmacy, Worcester, MA
  • Hospital Corporation of America (HCA), Nashville, TN
  • Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center SERIOUS Medication Reconciliation Clinic, Cleveland, OH
  • Advocates to Address Drug Shortages (Bona Benjamin, Erin Fox, Valerie Jensen), ,


  • Hennepin County Medical Center, Minneapolis, MN
  • Christiana Care Health System, Newark, DE
  • Lancaster General Health, Lancaster, PA
  • NC Center for QPS, Hosp Assoc, Board of Nursing, , NC
  • PA Patient Safety Authority, , PA
  • Barbara Olson, RN, , Atlanta, GA


  • Laura Bogdanski, PharmD, BCPS, Healthcare Associates, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, MA
  • Portage Health, Hancock, MI
  • Giant Eagle, Inc, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Intermountain Primary Children's Medical Center, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Veterans Health Administration Bar Code Resource Office, Topeka, KS
  • San Diego Patient Safety Taskforce, San Diego, CA
  • Christina (Marucci) Michalek, RPh, Director of Pharmacy, Lehigh Valley Health Network, Bethlehem, PA


  •, Columbus, OH
  • Community Health Network, Indianapolis, IN
  • UMass Memorial Medical Center, Worcester, MA
  • Debora Simmons, RN, MSN, CCRN, CCNS, Texas A & M Health Sciences Center, Houston, TX
  • Sebastian Ferrero Foundation, Gainesville, FL
  • FDA Patient Safety News, Rockville, MD


  • Mercy Health Center, Oklahoma City, OK
  • John F. Mitchell, Medication Safety Coordinator, University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Walworth County Patient Safety Council, Elm Grove, WI
  • Duke University Hospital, Durham, NC
  • Brigham & Women's Hospital, Boston, MA
  • Timothy Vanderveen, PharmD, MS, VP, Center for Safety & Clinical Excellence, Cardinal Health, San Diego, CA
  • Special Recognition- Robert W. K. Lam, RPh , Information Technology Specialist, ISMP Canada, Toronto, Canada


  • Ilene Corina, Co-President New York, PULSE, Wantagh, NY
  • Joyce Genarali, Director of Drug Information, University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, KS
  • Univ of Pittsburgh Medical Center Presbyterian, Pittsburgh, PA
  •, New York, NY
  • Hazel Hawkins Memorial Hospital, Hollister , CA
  • Evans Army Comm Hosp Soldier Readiness Processing, Ft. Carson, CO
  • Huntington Memorial Hospital, Pasadena, CA
  • Hospital Corporation of America (HCA), Nashville, TN
  • Therese Staublin, Drug Use Review Coordinator, St. Francis Hospital and Health Centers, Beech Grove, IN
  • Univ. of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Shadyside , Pittsburgh, PA


  • Lorri Zipperer, Cybrarian, Zipperer Project Management, Evanston, IL
  • David Marx, JD, Outcome Engineering, Carrollton, TX
  • Patient Safety Rounds Program at Dana-Farber Cance, Boston, MA
  • John Gosbee, MD, MS, Director, Patient Safety Information Systems, National Center for Patient Safety, VHA, Ann Arbor, MI
  • The Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Cleveland , OH
  • Jenny Meslow, National Interdiscplinary Case Competition, CLARION, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
  • Target Corporation, Minneapolis, MN
  • Fostoria Community Hospital, Fostoria, OH
  • Association of Perioperative Registered NursesAORN, Denver, CO
  • St. John's Mercy Medical Center, St. Louis, MO
  • Joanne Kowiatek, RPh, MPM, Manager, Medication Safety, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Joan Kramer, Staff Development Manager, Johns Hopkins Community Physicians, Baltimore, MD


Lifetime Achievement award winners

2017 Bona E. Benjamin, BS Pharm
2016 David Marx, JD
2015 John Grabenstein, RPh, PhD
2014 Janet Woodcock, MD
2013 David Classen, MD
2012 James Broselow, MD
2011 Lawrence A. Trissel
2010 Mark Neuenschwander
2009 Darryl Rich, PharmD, MBA, FASHP
2008 Diane Cousins, RPh
2007 Richard J. Croteau, M.D.
2006 Gordon Schiff, MD
2005 Herbert S. Carlin, DSc, MSc, RPh
2004 Neil M. Davis, PharmD, MS, FASHP
2003 Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP
2002 Kenneth N. Barker, Ph.D.
2001 Lucian L. Leape, MD

Back to top


Home | Contact UsEmployment  | Legal Notices | Privacy Policy | Help Support ISMP
Med-ERRS Med-ERRS | MSOMedication Safety Officers Society | Consumer Medication SafetyFor consumers
 ISMP Canada ISMP Canada | ISMP Spain ISMP Spain | ISMP Brasil ISMP Brasil | International Group | Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority

200 Lakeside Drive, Suite 200, Horsham, PA 19044, Phone: (215) 947-7797,  Fax: (215) 914-1492
© 2018 Institute for Safe Medication Practices. All rights reserved