Christina Michalek BSc Pharm, RPh, FASHP

​Medication Safety Specialist

Christina Michalek, BS, RPh, FASHP is a Medication Safety Specialist and Administrative Coordinator for the Medication Safety Officers Society at the Institute for Safe Medication Practices.  She also serves as a patient safety analyst to the ECRI Patient Safety Organization.

Christina earned her pharmacy degree from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and completed a PGY1 residency at Suburban General Hospital. She is a fellow of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).

At ISMP, she works collaboratively with health-system leaders and clinical staff participating in proactive risk assessments, targeted risk assessments, root cause analysis, and failure mode and effects analysis, in order to define and improve medication safety initiatives. Chris manages the update and analysis of ISMP’s Targeted Medication Safety Best Practices and is the lead for all medication-related technology issues. She also serves as Chair of the Leapfrog Barcode Medication Administration Expert Panel and co-chaired ECRI Institute’s Partnership for Patient Safety Health IT Clinical Decision Support for Drug-Allergy Interactions workgroup. Chris has presented at national, international, local, and state-level professional meetings, she has had adjunct faculty appointments at University of the Sciences in Philadelphia, Temple University School of Pharmacy, Wilkes University School of Pharmacy, and is a guest lecturer at Jefferson College of Pharmacy. She has more than 20 years of acute care hospital pharmacy experience during which time she provided care to a variety of different patient populations before advancing into management and ultimately department leadership roles. She served as Director of Pharmacy at Lehigh Valley Health Network and as Director of Pharmacy at Doylestown Hospital.

Chris is a member of ASHP, the Pennsylvania Society of Health-System Pharmacists (PSHP), and the Pediatric Pharmacy Association (PPA). She is a past presidential officer of the Bux-Mont chapter of PSHP and Pharmacist of the Year for PSHP.  She currently serves on the Small and Rural Hospital Section Advisory Group for ASHP, the Special Interest Group on Medication Safety for PPA, and the Meeting Programming Committee for PSHP.